Social Mediasports

World Cricket Day -24th April- Wishes Images, Quotes

Rate this post

World cricket Day celebrated every year on 24th April. International matches are played two teams representing their nation, simply organized by the INTERNATIONAL CRICKET COUNCIL (ICC). The main principle forms are Test Matches, One-Day Matches, and Twenty 20 Matches.

Cricket is the representative of their two countries players are playing the game. And some cricket guidance is followed by the players. The players should be maintained a dress code. most games are played as part of tours when one nation travels to another for a number of weeks or months.

The play a number of matches of various sorts against the host nation. The ICC also organizes competitions that are for several countries at once, including the Cricket World Cup & ICC T20 World Cup.

History of Cricket

There was no formal fabric for international cricket until the early twenty-first century. It had long been traditional for countries, without any interposition from a body such as the ICC, to organize for themselves the various cricket matches. The ICC later obligates the Test-playing nations to play each other in a program of matches over a period of 10 years known as the ICC Future Tours Programme.

 International cricket tours

Most Test, One-Day and Twenty20 matches take spot in the form of “tour”. In a tour, one nation travels to another and plays warm-up matches, which may be first-class matches, in opposition to domestic teams such as a county or state teams, a series of Test matches against the host nation, and either a series of One-Day international matches  (ODI) and T20 matches against the host nation or a tournament involving the host nation and another touring nation. Tours may compromise Test, ODI, and T20I matches, or just one or two of these formats.

Test series can last from two to six matches, but some tours compromise of only a single Test. Six-match series were usual in the 1970s and early 1980s, with the last six-match series to date taking place in 1997–98 between the West Indies and England. Ashes Test series in England were six-match event between 1981 and 1997, but Australia reverted to five matches in its home series from 1982–83. The most important series last four or five matches, while the smaller important ones last two to three matches. Perpetual trophies include:

Famous Trophies and cups

The Ashes (for England versus Australia) is the most famous permanent trophy.
Frank Worrell Trophy (Australia–West Indies)
Trans-Tasman Trophy (Australia–New Zealand Test series)
Chappell–Hadlee Trophy (Australia–New Zealand ODI series)
Border-Gavaskar Trophy (Australia–India)
Wisden Trophy (England–West Indies)
Warne–Muralidaran Trophy (Australia–Sri Lanka)
Basil D’Oliveira Trophy (England–South Africa)
Pataudi Trophy (England–India Test Matches played in England)
Sobers–Tissera Trophy (West Indies–Sri Lanka)
Anthony de Mello cup (England–India Test Matches played in India)
Freedom Trophy (India–South Africa)
One-day series normally last from three to seven matches. T20 series last from one to three matches.

Tours may include a multi-team one-day tournament, often referred to as a “triangular” or “quadrangular” tournament. Teams play a semifinal format, often with teams playing each other twice. Points are awarded for wins, ties, and no results, and some tournaments also award bonus points based on the border of victory. There may be a final match played between the two teams with the most points from the round-robin stage.

ICC main competitions

The main international tournaments organized by the ICC include the ICC World Test Championship, the World Cup and the T20 World Cup. The World Cup is held every four years; it involves all the Test-playing nations and a number of teams advancing from the immediately preceding ICC World Cup Qualifier. The T20 World Cup, which is generally held every two years and, as in the latest competition, involves the ten full ICC members and six associate members who qualified through a qualifier competition, the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier. The ICC also used to organize the now-defunct ICC Champions Trophy, previously known as the ICC Knockout Cup, a shorter tournament that was held every four years in between World Cups.

A league competition for ODIs, the 2020–22 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, is planned to begin in 2020.

Events won by each team:

CountryNo. Of World Cups WonT20 World cupChampions Trophy
Australia5 ( 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015)02 ( 2006, 2009)
India2 ( 1983, 2011)1 (2017)2 ( 2002*, 2013)
west indies2 ( 1975, 1979)2 ( 2012, 2016)1 ( 2004)
Pakistan1 ( 1992)1 ( 2009)1 ( 2017)
Sri Lanka1 ( 1996)1 ( 2014)1 ( 2002*)
England1 ( 2019)1 ( 2010)0
South Africa001 ( 1998)
New Zealand001 ( 2000)

Total no. of ICC main events played so far: Cricket World Cup: 12; T20 World Cup: 6; Champions Trophy: 8.

Note: The 2002 ICC Champion Trophy* was won by India  & Srilanka (Declared Co-Champions).

World Cricket Day Wishes Images, Quotes

2019 world cup captains images
India World cup winning moment on 2011 images
West indies won by twenty 20 world on 2016 images
5 Times world cup won by Australia With Captains Images
Emotional moment of 2015 world cup losses images
ICC World cup won by England Team on 2019 images
India Won by the world cup on 1983 images
Celebration of T20 world cup winners images
World Cricket Day Quotes
  • “Life is simply a cricket match, with temptation as the bowler.”
  • “Cricket matches are not about losing and winning, it is about enjoying.”
  • “Winning isn’t everything,,, it’s the only thing.”
  • “Serious cricket is war minus the shooting.”
  • “A Cricket ground is worthless until it has 2 dashing umpires and 22 exciting players.”
  • “Test matches bore people, One-day matches excite people.”
  • “I enjoy outdoor games but love cricket most.”
  • “Winning isn’t everything, it’s the only thing.”
  • “We lost the game on purpose; it’s just a ruse so that we could trample you in the final.”
  • “I think you enjoy the game more if you don’t know the rules. Then you’re on the same wavelength as the umpire.”
  • “Losing in cricket is the great Indian sin.”
  • “If you make every game of cricket a life-and-death thing, you’re going to have problems. You’ll be dead a lot.

Conclusion of world cricket day

Like I said earlier the game of Cricket is considered throughout the world as the second most popular game in the world. Americans have yet to catch on to the amazing game they play everywhere else in the world. Like Soccer Cricket also has a World Cup the last one played in 2011 with India winning it all in one of the most viewed television shows of all time.

The final words show that the 19th-century idea of fair play and sportsmanship still shapes the way in which sport is thought about. But at the core, much of the practice and business of sport is rotten and does not conform to the ethical and moral ideals that it was founded on. It also concludes that sport, despite all its rules, is not an equal competition. Please do like, share, and also comment section below.

Also, Read;

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button